Change

Image

Change is hard.  We are creatures of habit.  We move through our daily routines with the finesse of a ballet dancer, elegantly maneuvering through our life with precision and balance.  Stick a roadblock in front of us and we stumble.

As we get older, it becomes harder for us to recover from those stumbles.  The loss of a job, a loved one, a home, can put us in a tailspin that is difficult to stop.

When my 20+ year marriage came to an abrupt end, I felt as if the rug had been pulled out from beneath me and I was falling endlessly through Alice’s rabbit hole, spiraling down, grasping for air.

I can remember being laid off in my 20’s and thinking my life was over and my career would be forever scarred.  It was the recession of the early 90’s and I didn’t care that there were several people in the same situation.

As humans, we are adaptable.  We wouldn’t be at the top of the food chain if we couldn’t figure out how to adapt to change.  But that doesn’t make it easy. The older we get and the more routine our life becomes, the harder it is to bounce back from these stumbles in our life.

Living in the northeast, I see drastic change every year and I watch as nature balances the change from hot summer nights, to cold winter mornings; the cold damp grays of late March to the warm vibrant golds of October; summer rains to winter snowfalls.  Through it all, Mother Nature keeps her composure and moves on.  Oh, how I wish I sometimes had her strength.

I can’t speak for everyone, but I for one do not bounce well.  I am not Tigger, but I am no quitter, either.  If I have learned anything from these harsh New England seasons is that nothing stays the same for long.  Even winter comes to an end eventually.  You just have to hunker down and wait for the storm to blow over.

As humans, we are lucky to have friends and family.  If it weren’t for those around me who cared, I would never had made it through my divorce, several jobs searches or even the passing of my mother many years ago.  Sometimes, all we need is for someone to pat our hand and tell us it’s going to be okay. 

I am living witness to the fact that no matter what life throws at you, in time you do find your balance again.  Outside my window, the seasons come and go, gracefully transforming from one to the next.  We may stumble along the way, but if Mother Nature can pick herself up, brush herself off and make herself beautiful again, then so can I. With time and good friends we can all find our rhythm again and it may be even better than the old.

Leave a Reply

