What I Resolve NOT to do!

Now that the New Year is upon us, I see everyone posting his or her resolutions on Facebook.  Everything from getting organized to diet and exercise is on the list, again, this year.

Not so for me.  As I mentioned in my last post, a resolution should make you happy.  It should excite you so you look forward to doing it.  Not get up every morning at five AM groaning as you trudge out into the cold to head to the gym.  Unless you love going to the gym at five in the morning (and I know you crazy people exist) then why put yourself through that?

My resolutions are as follows:

1) I resolve NOT to go to the gym or start any fad exercise program.  Sure, technically speaking I am a few pounds overweight.  But I am not obese and I feel great.  I do not like routine exercise and I absolutely hate gyms.  What I will resolve to do is to get outside more.  I will go for walks when it is nice out and I will attempt to get some fresh air every day, even when it is negative two degrees out.  I will plant a vegetable garden this year and maybe start a perennial garden.  I will explore more of my state and go on hikes, bike rides and nature walks.  I will stick to my Yoga a couple times a week and attempt to get back on my meditation routine.  But I am also going to sit; sit and read books, sit and write and sit and watch TV, because THAT is what makes me happy.

2) I resolve NOT to go on any fad diets. Eating food that doesn’t taste good or not eating at all is not fun and certainly doesn’t make me happy.  What I will resolve to do is cook more.  I love to cook and love to bake.  I have subscriptions to three different cooking magazines and I plan to try every recipe that looks yummy.  I will stay away from fast food and minimize my processed sugar intake by cooking and baking my own food using healthy and flavorful ingredients.  And I will eat. In fact, I resolve to try new foods and experiment with ingredients I have not tried before.

3) I resolve NOT to stress myself out by promising to save money, travel more or improve my education.  I always try to watch how I spend money, I love to travel and I have spent most of my adult life going back to school. This year is about enjoyment.  So, if I want to spend a little money to do something a little crazy this year, I will.  If I decide that a “stay-vacation” is more relaxing than going somewhere exotic, that’s what I will do.  I always enjoy learning new things, but since I already have my MBA, I think I can skip the formal education and learn something that is more fun, like painting or improving my writing.

Trust me when I say life is too short to make all kinds of resolutions you aren’t likely to stick to anyway.  The best you can do is to live life moderately, enjoy the moments you have and with the people you are with.  Challenge yourself, but make the challenge something you know will make you feel happier.  Try to make other people happy.  The best way to be happy is to surround yourself with happy people.

I read an article in 2013 about the qualities that make up a long life.  The study stated that in areas where people were likely to eat all natural food that they grew or raised, in climates that were temperate enough to spend a good deal of time outdoors and in communities where people were open and friendly were likely to live very long, productive lives.  So, I guess you could say my resolution is to live a type of life that will lead to happiness AND longevity!

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope your New Years resolutions lead you to a long and healthy life, as well.

One thought on “What I Resolve NOT to do!

Leave a Reply

