Why This Blog

When I first decided to start this blog I had already been writing my Stone Bridge Antiques blog for a few months.  While I enjoy writing about antiques, the encouragement I received from friends and family on my writing helped me decide to expand my writing topics.  I didn’t want to write personal stories on my business blog so I started At Home in New Hampshire.

The first blog I published was about November and what November felt like to me living here in northern New England.  Then I added a blog about things to do around New Hampshire in November and early December.  So far, my blog has been a combination of inspirational opinions and fun to do facts.

New Hampshire has a lot to offer, but it is not for the faint of heart.  There are countless stories of people getting lost or killed in the White Mountains while hiking or skiing, or people drowning while snowmobiling across a lake that wasn’t quite frozen.  If you come to play, you need to follow the rules.

While we may not have the top entertainment venues like Boston, we do have The Music Hall in Portsmouth, the Palace Theatre in Manchester and The Capital Center for the Arts in Concord.  We may not have the best top rated restaurants in New England but we have Jumpin’ Jay’s Fish Café in Portsmouth, 11 Water Street in Exeter, and The Mount Washington Hotel Dining Room, in Bretton Woods.

If you like the outdoors, we have just about everything you could ask for.  Great snowmobile trails, skiing (both downhill and cross-country), hiking, rock climbing, boating, swimming, public gardens, bird watching and yes, tax free shopping.

But there is more to New Hampshire than just commercial tourism.  To live here is to be a hearty soul willing to see the beauty in everything, even the most bleakest of months.

My idea in starting this blog was to not only provide information on the commercial side of things, but to explain what it “feels” like to live here year round.  What’s the hardest part about living here?  What’s the easiest?  What is Yankee ingenuity, anyway?

I started this blog because I felt I had something positive to say about life, love and having fun.  I hope you continue to read and follow my blog because you find the information helpful and inspiring.

If there is something you want to know about New Hampshire or questions you would like me to answer, feel free to contact me at cindy_shea@comcast.net.

Leave a Reply

