Weather and Wildlife

Late Afternoon Over the Farm

Late Afternoon Over the Farm

Winter in New Hampshire can bring almost any type of weather.  The first week of this year has proven that if you don’t like the weather, just wait a moment, it will change.

A New Year’s snowstorm brought almost 8” of snow and in some spots even more. This past Sunday was so beautiful, my boyfriend and I took out the cross-country skis and trekked out across our field and down the snowmobile trails.  It was the first time in over a year we had been out on the skis and it felt wonderful.  Warmer weather brought torrential rain on Monday, which froze overnight.  Now our driveway, field and trails are more like a skating rink.  Today’s temperatures will not get out of the single digits and with the wind chill feels more like minus ten.

When I say you need to be a hearty sole to live up here, I’m not kidding.  I remember not that long ago we had a season that totaled over ten feet of snow.  I have pictures of the snow banks that towered well over my head.  We were running out of places to put the stuff.  Just a couple of years ago we had over a foot of snow in time for Halloween, then nothing after that.  It turned out to be a mild winter.

You never know what Mother Nature will throw at you this time of year.  We are just at the beginning of the winter season and for the next three months it will be a weather free-for-all.

On the upside, we along with our neighbor who shares the field out back, leave out food for the deer.  The other evening, right at dusk, we had nine does come to feed.  They included some babies, too.  They look nice and plump this year, so that is a good thing.  Though with the freezing of the rain we had yesterday I worry how they will fair with the coyotes we often hear.

During the snowstorm on New Year’s, we turned on the front light to see what it looked like outside.  We have a bird feeder with suet on our front pear tree and something was clearly hanging from it.  It turned out to be an opossum that ran off when the plow went by.  He was a big fellow.

We only started putting out the bird feeders this fall and already we have two pair of cardinals that visit and for the first time ever I have seen red breasted woodpeckers.  We have about a half dozen or so blue jays that like to boss over one of the feeders, but we also have the standard chickadees, titmouse, juncos, and nuthatches.  All are a welcome site on a cold winter’s day.

I had a bout of some stomach virus Sunday night and into Monday that has been going around work.  I am back on the mend, but I think it will be a few more days before I get my full appetite back.  The virus struck me as quickly as the changing weather.  Luckily, I had my boyfriend home to bring me warm blankets, cool cloths and ginger ale.

The forecast shows another warming trend towards this weekend, but I’m not fooled.  I am sure another round of cold and snow is just around the corner.  No matter what Mother Nature throws at us, we will take care of each other.

DSC00982

4 thoughts on “Weather and Wildlife

Leave a Reply

