What Reputation?

Reputation

As a writer, you always want to know that you have a reputation for good, honest content.  You want your writing to touch your audience, to stimulate conversation and to keep people coming back for more.  I have been writing for a long time, but always just for me, never for public consumption, so as I’ve started down the path of blogging, I thought I should find out what my reputation really was in the eyes of my friends and family.

I had never really thought about what my reputation was, nor did I really care.  I work hard, learn as much as I can about the tasks in front of me and do my best to be a good friend, daughter, mother, etc.  So I was a little nervous when I asked the question…What is my reputation?

Turns out, it’s not as bad as I expected.

Starting the year I turned thirty, I entered the continuing education program at Southern New Hampshire University.  At the risk of dating myself, when I started back to school, there was no such thing as online education.  So, with two little ones at home, working a full time job and maintaining a home, I took the plunge and two nights a week I drove out to the campus and started down my education path.

My first English Comp class was taught by a high school English teacher who told me I was an excellent writer and should consider pursuing a career as such.  I didn’t really believe him at the time.  I did love to write so I majored in communications for my bachelor’s degree.  A full fourteen years after that first class I would finish my masters degree in business leadership at Franklin Pierce University.

During that time my career blossomed and my education open doors I am sure would not have been there otherwise.  I studied hard and graduated Summa Cu Laude from SNHU and with High Honors from FPU.  My goal was to not only further my education and career, but to be a role model for my children.  I wanted to show them that if you put your mind to it you could accomplish anything.

So it shouldn’t have been a surprise to learn that my reputation was that of someone who was smart, tenacious and strong willed.  I was someone who could be counted on to either have the answers or to find the answers.  I was also someone who could be counted on to do what I said I would do.

Turns out I am also a goal setter, someone who not only sets long term goals, but works hard to reach those goals.  I am, as my boyfriend has pointed out, an over-achiever.

My boyfriend was also so kind to point out that I had what he calls “only child syndrome.”  Which is his way of saying I get what I want, I don’t like to share or be told what to do.

If I had to take an honest look at myself, I would say that I am independent.  I love that word and think it encompasses everything about me.  I have a vision of who I want to be and where I want to go.  But my “only child syndrome” also makes me stubborn, impatient and arrogant.  These are all things I am aware of and try to work on every day.

When today’s Zero to Hero challenge was to write a blog about the daily prompt and the daily prompt turned out to be “reputation,” I feared what I would find behind that curtain.  Turns out it’s nothing more than what I already knew.

And after all these years I finally believe that English teacher.  I AM a good writer.  Maybe not a great writer or, to date, a paid writer, but a good writer with a good reputation.

One thought on “What Reputation?

Leave a Reply

