A Family That Blogs Together….

I love to read almost anything.  I love to learn new things. And I love to blog.  So I am always out searching the WordPress world to find new and interesting blogs to read and follow.  Recently I was scanning through the Recommended Blogs site and settled on the “Family” category.  Every blog listed had to do with parenting.  Whether it was from the working Mom’s perspective or the stay-at-home Dad’s perspective.  I was quite disappointed.

First of all, why is it that only working moms and non-working dads get the spotlight?  Sure there may have been one or two blogs about stay-at-home moms, but it was usually because they had four or more kids and let’s face it, if you’ve ever been a parent, you know you have to make some serious cash in order to pay daycare for four or more kids.

I’m not saying that life isn’t interesting when you are raising a family.  I know.  I did it.  I raised two kids, worked a full-time job, managed the house and expenses and went to school.  I even went through a divorce and sold my house while I was finishing by graduate degree.  Needless to say, those were stressful times.

Today, my children are grown and have gone off in their own directions.  I am no longer an active participant in their lives.  I’m good with that.  But I still have family.  Admittedly, probably not as interesting as having small kids, but I do have parents, siblings, nieces and nephews and my boyfriend has his parents and adult children, too.

My boyfriend and I are at that stage where our next concern is our aging parents.  My parents have been married for more than 40 years; my boyfriend’s parents have been married for 50 years.  There’s nothing like a long term marriage to make you a bit snarky.  It can be quite comical.  Both my parents are hard of hearing and complain that the other one just doesn’t “listen.”  My “in-laws” constantly gripe about each other.  They clearly care about each other, they’re just too proud to admit it.

Since there are so many other “family” members to write about, why is it that all the “family” blogs are about raising children?  My only conclusion is that toddlers won’t sue you for slander.  If only they knew what you were telling the world right now about them.

I am enjoying this new “empty-nester” stage of my life.  I like that my children are self-sufficient and no longer depend on me for daily care.  I love the freedom I have to come and go as I please.  All those things I’ve “always wanted to try” I can now do.  It’s awesome!

I follow a few blogs that are about raising kids.  I enjoy the stories and can often reminisce.  Ah, those were the days when my little guy played Gamera with his pet box turtles and his GI Joe army men, when my daughter tried to convince me that she wasn’t breathing when I complained (jokingly) that they were fogging up my car windows.

All I know is, it would sure be nice to find a blog about family that didn’t just include comical insights about diapers.  Maybe I’ll include some insights here from time to time.  Just hope my parents don’t disown me.

3 thoughts on “A Family That Blogs Together….

  1. OK, here’s a fun challenge. I agree, most family blogs center on raising young kids. For those of us that are past that stage, there is still plenty of family. I wrote about my aunt lately. Let’s see more family posts that broaden the scope…

  2. That’s a great idea. I had written a post about my mother who passed away twenty years ago. But it’s a dark story and I like to keep things light, so I’ve set it aside for now. But I do have an idea maybe a little “outside the box.”

Leave a Reply

