Grey’s Mills Part 2

I would love to write about something different and fun.  Unfortunately, it’s been so cold here that even getting out of bed in the morning has been hard for me, let alone trying to come up with something witty and creative to write about.  It has been so cold here, that the fact they are now predicting that we will finally see temps rise above 30 degrees next Friday, has people holding out for hope.

Even though I run a small humidifier in our bedroom all night long, my skin is so dry that the slightest bump causes a crack or tear.  My nose feels like it is lined with tissue paper and hurts when I squint.  I read that using coconut oil on the inside of your nose helps to soothe it and I am seriously going to give it a try this weekend.

The only thought I have had on my mind is how to get warm.  Like everyone else, I am holding out for spring, which is right around the corner.  Next weekend is Daylight Savings and we will have an extra hour of daylight in the evenings.

For now, I will curl up in my warm blanket and post more of Ethel’s letter.  If you haven’t read the first part, please refer to the post prior to this one.

I picture Ethel as a young woman on her first adventure in life.  She sounds happy and full of life.  Little does she know that her world will soon be rocked by the great depression and WWII.  For now, this one summer, Ethel is enjoying everything that life has to offer in the sleepy little town of Grey’s Mills, New Brunswick in the summer of 1923.  I’ve added a few of my own notes among the text in bold.  Hope you enjoy…

Grand_Falls_Raging_Waterfall

The Grand Falls, NB

Here in Woodstock we stopped at the best hotel, the Carlisle.  We started early Wednesday morning.  It was a beautiful ride up and down hills and we could see such a long distance from the tops of the high hills.  The roads were good almost all the way and the car was very comfortable riding.  I did enjoy it so much for it was a great treat for me.  They were all so nice to me.  We had dinner in Perth and after riding a couple more hours we arrived in Grand Falls, a small town on both sides of the St. John river with a bridge connecting it just below the Falls where we could see the Falls splendidly.  It was a grand sight, a great mass of water tumbling down over the high rocks.  I wish you could have both of you seen it as I did.  Watson never was upriver beyond Fredericton.  (Here I assume Watson is Mrs. Duffy’s son…the 4th traveling companion)

We stayed here quite awhile and started back on our return journey a different way from what we came through to Fort Fairfield, Maine and down from northern Maine through the eastern part of the state to Calais.  Went from Fort Fairfield to Mar’s Hill where we had supper and then we started for Houlton, Maine, as there we wanted to stay for the night.  Here we stopped at Clark’s Hotel and we each had a very nice room and a good nights sleep for we were rather tired after so much riding.

Next morning we started early for the last lap of our trip.  It felt good to be back in the U.S.A as Mrs. Duffy said they were taking me back to my own country again.  That day we went through mile after mile of nothing but woods and forests the great forests of Maine.  They were wonderful after the rain of the night before.  It cleared off that morning so we were very fortunate indeed not to have had weather on such a long trip.  We had dinner in Princeton and arrived in Calais about three o’clock in the afternoon.  Calais is a very pretty town on one side of the St. Croix river and St. Stephens, N.B is on the other.  I tried to buy something to carry home but the stores were all closed being Thursday afternoon.  (I’ve never heard of the stores being closed on Thursday’s.  I’ll have to research that for my novel.) After getting some post cards and mailing them, we crossed over the bridge to ST. Stephens, N.B. so we were back in Canada once again. 

The Algonquin Hotel

The Algonquin Hotel

We continued on and went to St. Andrews, a great summer resort for wealthy Americans and English people.  Beautiful houses, estates and a grand hotel seen here by the seacoast. The Algonquin Hotel…. To be continued.

Leave a Reply

