Defying Old Man Winter

Well lookie here…It’s Sunday night at 5:30 and it is still light out.  And if that wasn’t enough, by this time next week, it will be 6:30 and the sun will still be up. 

I know I am not the only one who has been complaining about the bitterly cold winter we had this year.  Living way up here in the northeast one would think we would be use to it by now.  Cold is one thing, however; but frigid temperatures that continue straight on for weeks and months is too much to ask of anyone to handle with polite composure. 

The forecast calls for slightly warmer weather for next weekend, but just like last time a couple of days of reprieve will be quickly followed by more below freezing temperatures.

Well, I’m here to remind all of you who have endured these freezing temperatures to hang in there.  The days are getting longer and though we still have the long month of March to get through, there IS a light at the end of this frigid tunnel. 

Ok, I’m not putting my sweaters away just yet, but I am looking forward to getting home from work and taking the dogs for a little walk before dinner.  Fresh air and a little exercise will do everyone good.

When I start to feel despair with all this cold, I need only to remind myself of the summer my daughter came home.  It was 1996 and we had back-to-back snowstorms in April.  My Ex and I had traveled to Russia the third week in April to adopt our daughter.  That summer never warmed up above 70.  I remember having to wear a winter coat to see the fireworks for the 4th of July.  If you don’t believe me look it up.  It was the coldest summer on record dating all the way back to the 1800’s.

Hang in there people.  Old Man Winter can’t keep his harsh grasp on us forever.  Sooner or later he must release his rein to spring.

So as the sun begins to set and leave a streak of what looks like orange sherbet across the horizon, let me leave you with these words of wisdom:

“It is only in sorrow bad weather masters us; in joy we face the storm and defy it.” – Amelia Barr. 

 

Here’s me defying!

2 thoughts on “Defying Old Man Winter

Leave a Reply

