Fitness Plan Required by Work?

Our company has a Stay Fit program, which we are basically required to join.  I do not like being forced into things and I really think my company should stay out of my personal life.  However, since it is a requirement, I figured what the heck.  My New Year’s resolution was NOT to go on some fad diet and to me this is exactly what they have you doing, but I hoped I would be able to modify it to meet my needs and it at least gave me the motivation to keep trying.  We shall see.

The first week has you printing out a 7 day menu plan.  This is the first thing I hate about this (and similar) program.  I have never been able to stick to a “menu plan.”  First, one of my goals is to stay away from overly processed foods.  What is the first thing they have on their menu?  A protein bar.  Oh Yum!  Like that is going to fill me up until lunch time, not to mention I can’t stand protein bars.  Vegi burger?  Yep, that sounds appetizing. NOT!

In reality there is very little on this menu plan that (to me at least) is usable.  One of the biggest issues is that I don’t like to plan my meals.  I like to live in the moment and be inspired by what I see around me.

The website also compares foods like chips and cookies to healthy alternatives.  So, let me just put this out there to these Stay Well people:

  • I don’t eat fast food….ever.
  • I don’t snack on chips or other processed foods.
  • I try to minimize my red meat intake to 2 or less times per week.

And yet, according to their scale, I am overweight.  I will agree I would feel better 10lbs lighter. Hence the reason I am even attempting this.

Unfortunately:

  • I refuse to eat things like plain yogurt or cottage cheese.  If it doesn’t have loads of flavor, get it off my plate.
  • I love to bake.  I love sweats, but don’t like processed sugar so I make my own cakes, cookies and pastries.  And I eat them.
  • I love food. Good food.  I love flavors and textures and a good hearty meal.  I have hundreds of different recipes.  I could go a whole year and not eat the same thing twice.

Because my company provides our medical insurance (with an extremely high deductible) they have now determined that it is their responsibility to make sure I am healthy.  I want to be healthy, I really do.  But what I don’t want is to spend the little time I have on this planet eating things like tofu and black beans.

Additionally, I have had a lower back issue for about two years.  I spent most of those two years seeing a physical therapist.  The only way to make my back better was to pretty much stop doing everything, get the lower spine back in alignment and then try to (slowly) rebuild muscles I apparently haven’t been using in years.  The lack of physical exercise I am sure has caused my metabolism to slow way down.

Now that I am on the mend, in attempt to get my metabolism back in shape I have decided to walk at the mall at lunch.  This allows me to get in my exercise while checking out the latest spring fashions that no one will be able to wear around here for at least another two months or more. (Insert gripping cold weather) The skimpy styles do motivate me to move a little faster knowing that if I want to fit into some of those styles this summer, I have got to start working on my weight today.

So, even though what I would really like to do is go out for a big hearty sub, I will eat my apple and banana and go walk at the mall.

The on line program goes for 6 weeks.  I’ll keep you posted as to my progress.

MMMM!  Cake!

MMMM! Cake!

8 thoughts on “Fitness Plan Required by Work?

  1. I am like you, I don’t like me force into something I don’t want to, especially a diet, I decided to stop diets because they make me anxious even though I always tried to stay away from fad diet. And I hate , hate menu plans … Humm what is that cake ? Carrot Cake ? 🙂 Good Luck to you I hope it’s gonna go well and that you will find a compromise …

      • This looks so good , and this is funny because I’m craving anything Maple lately. My cousin sent me a picture of a Maple Tart today … I need to bake something mapleish asap !

      • I got the recipe from Family Circle. Check their website and search for Maple Cake. If you can’t find it, let me know and I will post the recipe.

        Enjoy! It is out of this world yummy. Just don’t look at the calories.

  2. I just had to reply … I am SO with you on this, they should just be staying out of your life! I’d really be pushing back on this. Life is WAY too short to be eating tofu and protein bars. Do what you’re comfortable with but don’t feel guilty. I am guessing that nearly every woman on the planet wants to be ten pounds lighter (including me!)

    • I should clarify…the company can’t “force” us to do this. BUT! They have changed our medical insurance to the bare minimum with extremely high deductibles. We can reduce those deductibles IF we participate in this program. (Bribery anyone?) There are several criteria we have to follow, one of which is doing this 6 week on line program. For each thing you complete you get a portion of the total possible credit.

      I have opted out of their “health screening” option and forfeited the money that goes with that, but I really didn’t think they needed that information. I will have my annual health exam by my own physician later this year and if she signs a form stating I have had it, I could get some of that credit.

      It’s a lot of hoops to jump through and a lot of red tape, but considering health care costs these days, I thought doing the on line health program was worth the credit they were giving to complete it. Plus I really DO want to lose some weight. The program is free, but so far from what I’ve seen, you get what you pay for. Giving us a free membership to Weight Watchers would be more beneficial.

      For now I will stick with it and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

