In the Blink of an Eye…Spring!

I feel like I can finally take a breath and sigh with relief.  Like this big elephant that has been sitting on my chest has left and I can finally move and breathe with a little more ease.  With the turning of the calendar page, we went from winter to spring.  Just last week the brook that crisscrosses our road was covered in a very thick layer of ice.  You could see in spots where the ice heaved and cracked how thick it was and most of the water was hidden underneath.  Our field was completely covered with snow except along the very edge where it was protected by pine trees and treated to much of the afternoon sun.

Then, in the blink of an eye, the river was running freely, still with chunks of ice here and there, but you could see the water flowing.  Our field is more than 50% bare and the deer are dancing with the freedom they now have.  The birds are singing, especially my favorite, the robin.  Even the turkey vultures have returned.  The only sign of spring I haven’t seen yet are the geese, but I am sure they are coming.

Each night now my boyfriend and I are taking walks up the road before dinner.  The air is still cool and there is still a lot of snow in the areas with less sun exposure, but the walks are refreshing.  The yard is a muddy, sloppy mess.  It ‘smells’ like spring and I couldn’t be happier.

My crocus, tulips and daffodils are growing and there are a lot of other green things popping through the garden.  As we just bought our house last summer, it will be very interesting to see what blooms.  We have lots of fruit trees in the area.  I cannot wait to see what everything looks like.

So you would think that with all this I would be on cloud nine.  I am, really…

Maybe it’s just been such a long winter.  Maybe it’s just that I know summer is so short.  All I know is that I feel life is slipping away much too fast to waste it locked indoors for six months out of the year.

I know this summer will be awesome.  Summers always are.  We will go to flea markets and yard sales.  We will go hiking and to the beach and take long leisurely rides to the mountains.  We will barbecue every day and sit outside in the evening and sip our wine and watch the sun set.  I will plant a garden in the field and annuals around the house.  I will add shrubs and perennials and maybe put in a new walkway and deck.  We will go to the farmers markets and we will eat healthy fresh vegetables and fruits and SEAFOOD!  And maybe…just maybe, I will get a little sunburn.

But each winter all I think about is moving to warmer climates.  I don’t care where as long as the ocean is nearby.  I’ve looked at small towns along the east coast and even looked overseas.  (I’ve always wanted to go to Italy.)  Finding work is always the hardest part.  I am lucky to work in a small city and live only twenty minutes away and not have to deal with traffic.  We love the country and quiet of it all.  Yet we are close enough to Boston to head down and spend the day.  I wish I could just pick up our little area and move it down somewhere around North Carolina.

Anything is possible, I suppose, and if I keep looking, someday I may be able to make my dream come true.  In the meantime, I am going to enjoy the warming temperatures and the coming of summer and maybe even have a barbecue.  🙂

2 thoughts on “In the Blink of an Eye…Spring!

  1. We are lucky with our climate here in Old Hampshire on the south coast of England. We get the best of the heat and the least of the cold. Even so we dream of living in warmer climates, so where where the sun shines every day. We holiday in Spain, Morocco, Turkey and wish we could hold onto that hot sun. Like you say, if only we could move our house there.

Leave a Reply

