Blogging 201 Challenge

Blogging 201: Branding and Growth

Previously I participated in the Blogging 101 challenge where we learned about the blogging community.  It was a very informative challenge and I think it really helped me focus on my writing and why I was writing.

But nothing ever stays stagnant; at least that is the case in my little world, and I feel that my platform is changing again.  I have decided to take the next step and take the Blogging 201 challenge.  So here we go!

Today’s assignment: consider what you want to accomplish with your blog. Write down three concrete goals you want to achieve. 

It’s the first assignment and already I think this is a tough one, but you have to ask the tough questions if you want to grow, right?

I originally started this blog as an extension of my antiques blog to allow me to write about my experiences in New Hampshire as I traveled looking for antiques.  That morphed a little as I started to write more on my thoughts and insights to what it was like living in New Hampshire;  hence my site name and tag line.

That expanded even more when I did the Zero to Hero blogging 101 challenge.  It turns out that I have a lot to say and I love to write.  Since then I have joined some writing groups and made lots of new friends and my writing has now morphed again…into fiction.

While originally I just wanted to write about life in New Hampshire, (And I still do) I have to admit that I would like to also use this blog as a platform for my fiction writing, as well.  There are just not enough hours in the day to maintain three blogs and since I already have a following here, why not morph again and add some insight to my fiction writing.

So, first goal…

Increase followers by 50%.  The whole point of writing a blog is so people will read it. Right?  It also allows me to get the word out about my fiction writing and my antiques business.  I also love to read other blogs.  Most of the blogs I follow I found through bloggers who visited my site.  Increasing my followers helps me spread my writing to new potential readers AND allows me to find new blogs that I can follow.

Increase feedback by writing at least three times a week and ask for responses.       Feedback is important to writers.  It helps us improve.  The more feedback I can get on my writing, the better it will get and the better my chances will be of getting published.

Incorporate my fictional writing by establishing a new weekly feature. Up till now I have not done much in the way of fictional writing on my blog.  One of the suggestions given for this challenge was to “establish a new weekly feature on my blog by April 30th (Throwback Thursdays, Wordless Wednesdays, Soup Sundays), and publish that feature each week through June 30th.”  I like this idea.

There you have it…my three concrete goals for my blog.  Feedback anyone?  What are your goals for blogging?  Do you feel goals are important for your blog?  Have any ideas of what you would like to see here?

4 thoughts on “Blogging 201 Challenge

  1. I am a non-fiction writer who likes to dabble in fiction. For me blogs are great for writing practice with an audience. The thoughts on my blog are for the blog, and unlikely a part of a a project leading to publication. For me fiction is rare and when I do it, I think publication, eventually. For me to be published doesn’t rhyme with to be shared. I too live in NH.

  2. My blog is more just my ramblings about everyday life and my walks in Hampshire, England. It began as a weight loss blog but has morphed from there as my life has changed. The fiction project is a totally separate thing but one day…

Leave a Reply

