The Added Cost/Benefit of Owning a Home

Home

Home Sweet Home

I sold my house back in 2011 after my divorce and my youngest graduated high school.  From there I moved into a nice two bedroom, low maintenance apartment.  About a year and half later, I moved in with my boyfriend in his two bedroom townhouse.  Last year, I bought a four bedroom colonial.

I had originally sold my house because of the work involved in maintaining it.  Newly divorced, I wanted to take advantage of my single life and live in the city close to shops, restaurants and other nightly activities.  I was determined to have fun if I was going to be a single empty-nester.  Besides, living alone in the same house where I had spent half of my married life and raised my children seemed weird to me.

The apartment was nice, clean and plain.  Everything was beige and painting the walls was not allowed.  I tried to add color with artwork and curtains, but not being able to do any remodeling was driving me crazy.  It didn’t take me long to realize that apartment living, while easy and convenient, was not for me.

When my boyfriend and I decided to move in together, his condo was the logical choice.  It was bigger than my apartment, had a garage and a basement, and allowed pets.  My boyfriend has two (big) dogs, which would not have been permitted in my little apartment. The condo was nice, but we still couldn’t change things, the kitchen was way too small and I really wanted an outdoor space where I could plant flowers.

Last year we decided we would buy a house and found a nice colonial on two and half open acres in the country.  It needs work, as they all do, but this allows me to put my own stamp on it.  It will have my colors and design.  We’ve already pulled up carpeting, and opened up doorways.  The dogs can run freely in the back and we now have “guest” bedrooms.

While I originally thought that owning a home was no longer what I wanted or needed, it only took me a couple of years to realize how much I missed it.  Sure it’s a lot of work and yes it is expensive.  But it’s mine.  I can put in a new walkway or plant a vegetable garden or add new shrubs. We will eventually redo the kitchen and maybe tear down a wall or two.

But the most important thing about owning my home is that it is mine.  I can come home, turn up the music, walk around in sweats (inside and outside), and sit outside with a glass of wine in my hand and a steak on the grill.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

6 thoughts on “The Added Cost/Benefit of Owning a Home

  1. I am currently shackled with a rambling domicile that is better suited to a family of shrieking, giggling teenagers. I love the solitude of it, but only ever inhabit about half of this house. Were it not underwater and I unemployed, I might think of ridding myself of it. But since I can’t, I revel in the ghostly echoes of those happy teens who made it a home.

Leave a Reply

