Spiced Sweet Potato and Roasted Broccoli Toasts

Spiced Sweet Potato and Roasted Broccoli Toats

Spiced Sweet Potato and Roasted Broccoli Toasts

I was going to post a recipe for my maple cake today, a very scrumptious cake, I might add.  But my boyfriend surprised me with a mother’s day brunch on Sunday that was so good I just had to share.

First I must say that my boyfriend is a very good cook.  He is adventurous, probably more so than I. He knows that I am trying to eat “healthy” attempting to stay away from preservatives and processed foods and he looks for recipes he thinks will be full of flavor.  He’s also one of those who cooks by the seat of his pants rather than follow a recipe, but he did follow the recipe this time.

This divine little brunch was found in the February 2014 issue of Bon Appetit.  Yes, another wonderful recipe from this magazine.  It is called Spiced Sweet Potato and Roasted Broccoli Toasts. Now before you turn your nose up at this, I have to say the name and ingredients didn’t turn me on either, but once you taste this, you’ll be glad you tried it.

I was able to find this recipe on line so here is the link.

Now I will say that I was banned from the kitchen when he was making this, but there were a lot of steps involved.  The recipe calls for a lot of salt and pepper to taste and also calls for fresh basil and fresh mint.

Personally I thought he could have cut back a little on the salt and pepper.  There are a lot of flavors going on in this dish, almost too many, though they all seem to work well together.

We did not have fresh basil or mint available so we substituted dried basil.  We couldn’t find any mint so we had to omit that ingredient, though I’m sorry we did because I have a feeling it would have been very interesting. DSC01080

When he spread the sweet potato onto the toast and then topped it with the broccoli mixture, my first thought was, hmmm, interesting.  I have to say once I tried it I was hooked.

I am adding some pictures of what it looked like.  Don’t let it turn you off.  Trust me when I say if you like lots of flavor and willing to give this a try, I am pretty sure you will like it.  I did!

Next week I will post the maple cake.  I promise you’ll like that, too. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Spiced Sweet Potato and Roasted Broccoli Toasts

Leave a Reply

