Chocolate Cake!!!

I’ve written a lot lately of my wonderful boyfriend and his cooking skills.  Generally speaking, I’m the baker in the family while he does a lot of the cooking.  The other day he surprised me with a chocolate cake, made from scratch, that also had wine as an ingredient.

Yes folks, you heard that correctly, decadent chocolate cake made with red wine.  It just doesn’t get any better than that, does it?

He found this recipe in the same Bon Appetit magazine he had found the Spiced Sweet Potato and Roasted Broccoli Toasts and I was able to find the recipe online here.

The only problem was that my boyfriend’s cake did not look like the picture in either the magazine or online.  He followed all the directions including using the 9” spring form pan, yet his cake came out very thin.  My first thought was he omitted the baking powder or baking soda, but the recipe did not call for either. (I double checked)

While the cake looked a little flat, it did taste wonderful.  The instructions seemed quite easy and since this was the first foray into baking a cake from scratch for my boyfriend, it clearly can’t be that difficult.

All I can say is that it is a very (emphasis on the very) rich chocolate cake.  I shared it with my writing critique group who all enjoyed it (with their wine, of course), so you don’t have to take just my word for it.

I have written to the editors of Bon Appetit to see if they can explain why our cake was flatter than theirs.  I’ll let you know if they ever get back to me.  In the meantime, give it a try.  If you have different results, please let me know.   Regardless of what it looked like, when you are combining dark chocolate and red wine, can you really go wrong?

Chocolate Cake

From the Bon Appetit Website. Their chocolate cake was much higher than ours.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake!!!

Leave a Reply

