Blogging University – Day 2

I’m a little behind on my Blogging University homework, but I promise I’ll catch up. 🙂

Today, choose a place to which you’d like to be transported if you could — and tell us the back story. How does this specific location affect you? Is it somewhere you’ve been, luring you with the power of nostalgia, or a place you’re aching to explore for the first time?

There is one single place on this earth where I have always wanted to visit…Italy.  I am not sure what draws me to that country, having never been there, but the history, the beauty and the food all call to me.  I envision rolling hills dotted with olive trees, sparkling ocean waters that beckon you to swim in them and acres of grape vines that will soon be converted into Italian wine.

Thoughts of pizza, pasta and piazza’s float through my mind when I think of traveling there.  Narrow cobblestone streets that lead to artistic fountains, colorful buildings that line the sides of cliffs and old farm homes at the end of tree lined drives is how I picture life in Italy.

Movies such as Under the Tuscan Sun and Eat, Pray, Love romanticize this as a place for broken hearts to heal.  Italy is surrounded by water, has rolling hillsides, epic mountains and lakes and, let’s face it, some of the best wine in the world.  The Italians do nothing in moderation.  They eat, play and drink to their hearts content.  They have strong family ties and are not afraid to show their emotions.  They say what’s on their mind.

For me it is the food, beauty and way of life that intrigue me.  If you are hungry, you eat, if you are thirsty, you drink.  The sun shines and the air is fresh.  At least that is how I imagine life to be there.

I am quite sure that one day I will see this wonderful country, I will dip my fingers in her fountains and drink in her splendor.  I want to sit in a piazza and sip wine and eat pasta. I want to feel the history flow through my veins and see the remarkable evidence of a world long since passed.

Yes, if I could be transported anywhere in the universe, this is where I would choose to go, without hesitation.

Bella cosa far niente!  Idleness is a wonderful thing!

4 thoughts on “Blogging University – Day 2

  1. I liked Italy, although a apples was crowded, slightly dirty and so covered with graffiti it made navigation difficult. Pompeii though was amazing as was climbing Vesuvius. If you get the chance, go!

Leave a Reply

