Blogging University – Day 4

Yesterday’s Blogging University challenge:  Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

This is a very challenging request.  I mean everyone has loss, but I don’t want to write another post about the death of a loved one or the loss of my marriage.  Some of those losses are sad, very sad, and some were, to be quite frank, worth the momentary heartache.

So what to write about?  Well as I gave this some thought, perhaps what I wanted to write about was the loss of my self-consciousness.  Even more so, the gaining of my independence.  After all, with the loss of my mother (a very sad and tragic event) and my marriage (a temporary sadness resulting in a better outcome) I also lost the nay-sayers.  Those who constantly told me, “You can’t do that,” or “That will never happen,” or “You should really do something else.”

You see I started going back to college after my mother passed.  She had always insisted that once I graduated from high school all I needed was a steady job.  To her college was a good thing, but not the most important thing.  Today I have my master’s degree and feel more liberated than ever. Without it, I don’t think I would be where I am today.

When my husband left, I thought for sure all my dreams and desires left with him.  Turns out not only was that not the case, but I gained new dreams and was able to experience some of the old dreams that I might not have experienced had we stayed married.  I traveled, took on a new position at work, met and am now living with a wonderful man who treats me with respect and I am now working on my first novel.  These are all things I would never have dreamed of doing just five years ago.

So the moral of this tale is loss hurts, but with the closing of one door…well you know how the saying goes.

The second part of this challenge is to make this the first of a three-post series.  So here’s my promise.  When we are instructed to write part two, I will let you know some of the amazing things I did completely on my own that I would never had done before.  Focusing on loss can be therapeutic, but I am at the point in my life where focusing on the positive outcomes is much more interesting.

One thought on “Blogging University – Day 4

Leave a Reply

