End of Summer

I know I whine a lot about the weather.  I live in New England so I should be used to the cold weather and drastic temperature changes by now.  But I’m not.  I love the heat. I don’t even mind a little humidity if I don’t have to sleep in it.

After the long cold winter we had, I was truly hoping for a rebound this summer.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s been a nice summer, but we have not had the heat we sometimes get. Let’s face it, even those who hate the hot days of summer admit that up here they don’t last very long.  Most people complain but they know the longest a heat wave lasts is a week or so. This year I think the longest we went for straight days of heat was three and I don’t recall the meteorologist once mentioning heat wave on his weather reports.

For the farmers up here, we have had a good year of rain. Almost too much.  August’s average rain fall is around 3.6 inches.  This year we have already hit about 7 inches.  That’s about double the average.  Our lawn looks amazing, but our tomatoes are splitting before they even turn red.  On the upside, we haven’t had to water the garden more the two or three times this year. On the downside, too much rain and not enough heat can reduce or ruin crops. 

It’s a balancing act, to be sure and we are at the mercy of Mother Nature.  Complain all we want, she won’t listen. While the temps have been comfortable and the humidity low, you could almost anticipate an early fall.  And here we are.

Leaves are already changing, temps are falling into the forties and fifties at night and, yes, I heard geese fly by the other day. 

If that wasn’t enough, walk into your local home and garden store and you will find a nice array of Mums, rakes and *gasp* snow blowers. 

It’s August people and yes it is late August, but still, do we need to push things?  Am I really crazy to think there won’t be any more hot days?

I’m looking forward to the cooler days and cooking and canning and all the fun fall brings.  I was just hoping I would be sick of the summer heat by now.

5 thoughts on “End of Summer

  1. In Old Hampshire we had the wettest winter and spring on record, lots of floods. The summer has been average at best and very humid because of all the water still hanging about. Like you, I’m dismayed that autumn seems to have arrived earlier than expected. 😦

Leave a Reply

