A Quick Note About Fall

Fall I think is one of those seasons that is so noticeable. One minute it is summer with all the warm, long, grass-between-your-toes days and then the trees are a multitude of colors, vibrant and warm in nature, but the days are cooler, shorter.

I have been so busy doing so many things that I almost missed it, that is until my boyfriend and I took a drive up to Quechee Gorge, Vermont last weekend. It was beautiful up there and I had never walked the trail down to the bottom of the gorge before. Walking down was easy…walking back up, well that’s another story.

Quechee Gorge

The Gorge from the top on the Bridge.

Quechee Gorge

Another view of the Gorge.

Quechee Gorge

It was a beautiful day for a hike.

Still, if you love quaint New England, you can’t beat Vermont, and just to add to our fun, we drove the extra ten minutes up the road to Woodstock, another quaint New England town.

Even with all the fun and outdoor excitement I was still in my own little world. Then, on my way home last night it really struck me how much the trees had changed. Everything just glows with reds, oranges and yellows and there are almost as many leaves on the ground as in the trees.

October brings with it all types of goodness. I love this month. I love the color, the smells, the sights, and, yes, the food. What’s the point of fall if you can’t eat it?

In fact I made this amazing pull-apart apple bread that I will share with you in the coming days. It was super easy and very tasty and I found it on Pinterest. (Who says Pinterest is useless web surfing!)

I know what comes after fall is depressing, but for now I am going to enjoy what we have. The weather has been fantastic and perfect for baking and canning and you can’t be depressed when you wake up in the morning as the sun comes over the horizon and turns everything to a vibrant gold.

On top of all that I have been involved in the local Agricultural Commission and have been made a board member. I don’t run a commercial farm, but I figure that gives me the times to help those who do. Tomorrow one of the local farms is holding a Farm Day event. I plan on attending and get a first hand glimpse of how a real beef cattle farm is run.

Now I just need to finish the first draft of the story I’m working on before the Crimbake, the mystery writers conference in Massachusetts. I have to pitch a story to an agent and I want to be done.

As the weather gets cooler, I’ll be inside writing more and my plan is to get back to this blog again. New Hampshire has so much to offer, you just need to experience it to understand and if you can’t be here, I can at least do my best to explain it to you.

Leave a Reply

