Cabin Fever

When I meet people who have never lived in New England I always hear the same thing.

“Oh, New England is so beautiful, you must love living there.”

Ha! I say! Clearly you have never experienced cabin fever.

Clearly, you have never lived through a long New England winter only to find that spring refuses to arrive.

What people envision when they think about New England are pictures the tourist association puts on their Visit Here commercials. Beautiful summer lake houses, beachfront cottages, hiking trails, horse back riding, boating, and let’s not forget about the wonderful colors of fall.

Sure, we have all that. But we only have all that for about five months out of the year. When all the tourists leave, these vibrant communities roll of the sidewalks, and these towns become ghost towns. Once the leaves fall, there is nothing pretty about New England until the first snowfall.

Yes, people flock to the mountains for skiing and other winter sports, but if you are not a snow person, you won’t have fun. It’s cold…bitterly code. In fact, some days our high temperatures are in the negative digits.

The days are short and the sun sets by four o’clock. If you live up here, that means you are going to work in the dark and coming home in the dark. We get about six ours of daylight in the darkest part of the year.

While spring officially starts (according to the calendar) in March, we still get frost until May. “Ice out” on the lakes doesn’t happen until late April and we still had snow in our yard in mid-April.

So why do I live in New Hampshire if I hate it so much?

Well, two reasons really. One, I’ve lived here all my life. I raised a family here and own a home and work here. Two, those five months of nice weather we get is really nice. I mean absolutely stunningly nice. From about the middle of May to the middle of October New England is as idyllic as it gets.

Would I move? Probably. Finding a job and relocating is extremely stressful and trying to sell a house in this market is next to impossible unless you are willing to take a loss. So, for now we are staying put and looking forward to summer…whenever that may be.  Cabin fever be damned.

One thought on “Cabin Fever

  1. We have the same issues here in Eastern Washington. I love the late spring/summer time. It’s amazing – I can’t imagine living anywhere else. But come January, I am so sick of winter and I know I’m only half way through. Makes for a very long wait and a lot of restlessness. That’s when I start looking at houses thinking it’s time to move. Then we get a few nice days so my focus changes to the garden which makes things move a little better. Here I am, almost at May, still waiting to put in the garden but we’re almost there.

Leave a Reply

